Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Recipe: Marbled Banana Bread
Author: Isa Chandra Moskowitz

Yes, I’ve posted a lot about Isa’s vegan recipes. What can I say? Her food and wit are to die for. Case in point, this marbled banana bread. Not only does it look simply divine ( look at those cocoa swirls! ), when you use ripe bananas ( as I had in my first attempt ) it has a wonderful flavor.

This is a fairly simple recipe to put together. The only ‘complicated’ part comes from putting a cup of the batter aside to mix with 3 tablespoons cocoa, which itself had been mixed with 3 tablespoons of boiling water. Nothing over the top but definitely a departure from other banana bread recipes I’ve made.

This recipe does have sugar: 3/4 cup to be exact. I may cut that down to 1/2 cup for my next go at it to see if I can get away with less.

I made two attempts at this delectable treat this week; the first was an utter flop for reasons that shall remain a mystery. My second attempt, pictured above, was made with fresh rather than ripe bananas, which runs contrary to the recipe’s recommendation. Of course the best banana flavor comes from very ripe bananas, but I’d promised banana bread to my my two year old son and had to make do with what I had on hand. Luckily the bread still came out quite tasty, if light on banana flavor.

